Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda | Becky Albertalli

This book has been on my TBR for a while now but I have just never gotten around to reading it. And boy am I kicking myself for not reading it sooner.

Simon is your average teenager. He is a junior at Creekwood High. He has his best friends, Leah, Nick and Abby. And he has his close nit family of his mum and dad and sisters, Alice and Nora. But Simon has a secret that no one else knows.

One day he finds an anonymous post on the school’s Tumblr that states one of the students is gay. Simon automatically feels drawn to this post and reaches out to the person under the alias of Jacques. After several months and emails later, Jacques & Blue form a bond that encourages them both to come out to their friends and families about their sexuality. When they are finally out and find out who each other are, they could not be happier.

This story is about 2 boys struggling to come out to their family and friends about who they really are. It has a wonderful message and I encourage everyone to read it! I loved how understanding all of their friends and families were. Unfortunately, in a lot of cases, people aren’t as understanding and that really upsets me.

I read this book after my buddy @pagespawsandpetals and we plan to watch the movie (Love Simon) together (in different states but at the same time!! Cute right?) and I cannot wait!! Simon brought me loads of joy and happiness and he is such a lovely character. His best friend, Leah, plays a part in this book and Becky Albertalli’s next book in the series “Leah on the Off Beat” stars Leah as the main character. I am excited to read this one in the coming months!

This book was book #34 of the year and a 4 star read for me!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.